HapkidoNetwork.com

Hapkido network and Hapkido forum: Make friends, share photos & more!

Hello and welcome to those who have joined recently. We'd love to know more about you. How about replying here, or starting your own forum topic? Also feel free to share photos and videos of yourself and your school. Hapki!

Views: 4488

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Hello:

My name is Larry and I am a new practitioner to Hapkdio, specifically Sin Moo Hapkido. I am not new to martial arts. I've studied Tang Soo Do, Goju Ryu, and Aikido when I was younger. I've been out of martial arts for about 15 years. I studied alot when I was younger and have decided to get into it again because I really missed it and I have the time to do it again.

I decided on Hapkido because I always had an interest in it but never had good luck finding schools in my area that offered it until recently.

I am really enjoying it. It is unlike any martial art I've trained in before with the exception of Aikdio which is similar but not near as circular. I've noticed the techniques in Hapkido are more like a corkscrew as opposed to a circle in Aikido and the movements are more on an X pattern.

Definitely alot of techniques to wrap my head around footwork, hand position, flow, balance, etc.
Hello Ibetson. My experience was similar to yours in that I studied martial arts in my youth (Karate in my case) then I stopped for 20 years, always wanting to get back but never getting around to it. I finally resumed training at the age of 40 and chose Hapkido because it is so comprehensive and scientific. I'm very happy with my choice.

I like your illustration of Hapkido locks as corkscrews rather than circular.

There is a lot to learn but like any art once you begin to grasp the fundamentals and to see the patterns, it gets much easier. Definitely enough to keep you busy for a lifetime, though.
Hi